Tue Feb. 5, 2019
20:30

Johannes Berauer’s Hourglass feat. Gwilym Simcock (A/GB)

Thomas Gould: violin
Mike Walker: guitar
Gwilym Simcock: piano
Martin Berauer: bass
Bernhard Schimpelsberger: drums
Johannes Berauer: composition

Basho Records will release “Hourglass”, created by genre-busting Austrian composer Johannes Berauer, on Friday 20th July 2018. The recording features virtuosi Thomas Gould (violin), Gwilym Simcock (piano), Mike Walker (guitar), Martin Berauer (bass) and Bernhard Schimpelsberger (drums, percussion and Konnakol).

Johannes Berauer is one of the most productive and diverse young composers in Austria. He navigates effortlessly through musical styles such as classical avant-garde, jazz and world music. He was recently orchestral arranger and musical director for Oud master Anouar Brahem on his last ECM release “Souvenance”. With Indian Sarod virtuoso Soumik Datta he co-composed the music for the silent movie project “King of Ghosts” originally for the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, then the London Philharmonic Orchestra at the Queen Elizabeth Hall. An album of this music performed by the City of London Sinfonia has just been released by Shakespeare’s Globe.

“Johannes manages to connect 21st Century innovation with Jazz music to great success. I see a long and productive musical life for him — very, very gifted.” – Bob Brookmeyer

Hourglass Quintet
Gwilym Simcock, member of Pat Metheny’s current quartet, and Mike Walker who played with virtually everyone from Kenny Wheeler to Dave Holland are two of the finest musicians of the jazz scene. Violinist Thomas Gould has been described as “one of the most talented and charismatic British violinists of the younger generation” excelling in both classical and contemporary repertoire as well as Jazz. He is director of the Britten Sinfonia. Likewise, Martin Berauer and Bernhard Schimpelsberger are two of the leading young musicians of Austria. Martin, living in Paris, is especially known for his expertise in the field of world music, and Bernhard, based in London, has built a reputation as a master of Indian Rhythms, which lead him to collaborations with artists like Akram Khan or Anoushka Shankar.

Di 5. Februar 2019
20:30

Johannes Berauer’s Hourglass feat. Gwilym Simcock (A/GB)

Thomas Gould: violin
Mike Walker: guitar
Gwilym Simcock: piano
Martin Berauer: bass
Bernhard Schimpelsberger: drums
Johannes Berauer: composition

„Hourglass“ ist eine englisch / österreichische Band der Superlative. Die Musik stammt von Johannes Berauer, einem der führenden jungen (Jazz)Komponisten Österreichs, der durch seine Arbeit mit Anouar Brahem oder Wolfgang Muthspiel aufhorchen lies.

Die Credits der Musiker sind nicht weniger beeindruckend. Simcock tourt aktuell mit Pat Metheny, Walker spielte mit Kenny Wheeler, Dave Holland und vielen anderen. Thomas Gould setzt sowohl in der Klassik als auch im Jazz neue Maßstäbe und wurde als "one of the most talented and charismatic British violinists of the younger generation" beschrieben. Die beiden Österreicher Bernhard Schimpelsberger und Martin Berauer sind vor allem durch ihre Expertise im World Music Sektor bekannt. Der in Paris lebende Martin hat sich unter anderem zum Spezialist für nordafrikanische Musik entwickelt und Bernhard’s meisterhafte Beherrschung indischer Rhythmen führte ihn zu Projekten mit Nitin Sawhney, Anoushka Shankar oder Akram Khan.

Berauer’s Musik zeichnete sich durch große thematische Entwicklungen, reiche und farbenfrohe Harmonien und die wohlüberlegte emotionale Wirkung von Form aus. Er wurde stark von Komponisten wie Bach, Messiaen oder Schostakowitsch beeinflusst. Die Musik lädt zum aufmerksamen Zuhören ein, aber auch zum eintauchen, sich mitreißen lassen. Die Sanduhr wird hierfür zum Symbol. Wenn sie startet steht die Zeit rundum still und es öffnet sich ein Raum für Fokus und Hingabe an die eigenen inneren Erfahrungen. 'Hourglass' beinhaltet faszinierende Musik, die einen sofort in den Bann zieht, interpretiert von einem wirklich einfühlsamen und fähigem Ensemble.