Fri Nov. 2, 2018
20:30

Randy Brecker & Bill Evans' Soulbop XL feat. Simon Phillips (USA)

TICKETS:

Randy Brecker: trumpet
Bill Evans: tenor, soprano saxophone
Simon Phillips: drums
Otmaro Ruiz: keyboards
Teymur Phell: bass

Jazz trumpeter and composer Randy Brecker has helped shape the sound of jazz, R&B and rock for more than five decades. His trumpet and flugelhorn performances have graced hundreds of albums by a wide range of artists from James Taylor, Bruce Springsteen and Parliament/Funkadelic to Frank Sinatra, Steely Dan, Jaco Pastorius and Frank Zappa. The Brecker Brothers band was one of the most influential contemporary Jazz groups of all time. Not only a prolific trumpet player, Randy is widely recognized as one of the most influential writers as well. Randy has won 6 Grammys in his inspirational career that is continuing to expand.

Who does Miles Davis, Gregg Allman, John Mclaughlin , Herbie Hancock, Mick Jagger all have in common? Bill Evans, that’s who.

Bill is a world-class, Grammy Award winning saxophonist and producer who made his debut on the international music scene in the 1980s, at the tender age of 21, with Miles Davis. He has recorded 25 solo albums to date. Bill has always been inspired to push the boundaries and continue to evolve. Bill has fused the music of Soul, Funk, Jazz, Rock and Americana into his music. His band Soulgrass was a melting pot of quintessential American music.

In 2003 Randy and Bill decided to put together a new group using all the of the influences that have inspired them in their own bands, with the idea of having different members every year. Soulbop was born and hasn’t stopped since. Medeski , Martin and Wood, Robben Ford, Steve Lukather, and many others have toured with Soulbop. In 2005 they recorded a double CD they called “ Soulbop Live “ and headlined many summer festival tours in Europe.

Says Bill “we wanted to do something very special for our 15th year anniversary of Soulbop. We are extremely happy to have as our special guest with Soulbop, drum legend Simon Phillips. Simon has been a leader in the music world for many years. We are really looking forward to it !”

Filling out the Soulbop tour will be keyboardist Dennis Hamm and Bassist Teymur Phell.

Fr 2. November 2018
20:30

Randy Brecker & Bill Evans' Soulbop XL feat. Simon Phillips (USA)

TICKETS:

Randy Brecker: trumpet
Bill Evans: tenor, soprano saxophone
Simon Phillips: drums
Otmaro Ruiz: keyboards
Teymur Phell: bass

Der Jazztrompeter und Komponist Randy Brecker prägt seit mehr als fünf Jahrzehnten den Sound von Jazz, R&B und Rock. Seine Trompeten- und Flügelhorn-Auftritte haben Hunderte von Alben von James Taylor, Bruce Springsteen und Parliament/Funkadelic bis hin zu Frank Sinatra, Steely Dan, Jaco Pastorius und Frank Zappa geschmückt. Die Brecker Brothers Band war eine der einflussreichsten zeitgenössischen Jazzgruppen aller Zeiten. Randy ist nicht nur ein erfolgreicher Trompeter, sondern auch einer der einflussreichsten Komponisten. Randy hat 6 Grammys in seiner inspirierenden Karriere gewonnen, welche immer weiter wächst.

Wen haben Miles Davis, Gregg Allman, John Mclaughlin, Herbie Hancock, Mick Jagger gemeinsam? Bill Evans.
Bill ist ein Weltklasse-Saxophonist und Produzent, der im zarten Alter von 21 Jahren mit Miles Davis sein Debüt in der internationalen Musikszene gab. Bis heute hat er 25 Soloalben aufgenommen. Bill war schon immer bestrebt, die Grenzen zu durchbrechen und sich weiterzuentwickeln. Bill hat die Musik von Soul, Funk, Jazz, Rock und Americana in seine Musik integriert. Seine Band Soulgrass war ein Schmelztiegel amerikanischer Musik.

2003 beschlossen Randy und Bill, eine neue Gruppe zu gründen, die all die Einflüsse nutzt, die sie in ihren eigenen Bands inspiriert haben, mit der Idee, jedes Jahr andere Mitglieder zu haben. Soulbop wurde geboren und ist seitdem nicht mehr aufzuhalten. Medeski, Martin und Wood, Robben Ford, Steve Lukather und viele andere haben mit Soulbop getourt. Im Jahr 2005 nahmen sie eine Doppel-CD mit dem Titel „Soulbop Live“ auf und waren Headliner vieler Sommerfestivals in Europa.
Bill: „Wir wollten etwas ganz Besonderes für unser 15-jähriges Jubiläum von Soulbop tun. Wir freuen uns sehr, mit Soulbop, Schlagzeuglegende Simon Phillips, einen besonderen Gast zu haben. Simon ist seit vielen Jahren führend in der Musikwelt. Wir freuen uns sehr darauf!“ (Pressetext)