Porgy & Bess - Jazz & Music Club, Vienna

The non-profit organisation Porgy & Bess defines itself as a Jazz & Music Club with a pluralistic and multifaceted programme. It serves as a site for musical encounters, interaction and confrontation both for artists and audience. The main focus lies on the implementation of a structure that takes into consideration Austria’s (jazz) scene’s wide range of ways to articulate itself as well as new development perspectives, such as collaborations with international guest musicians. Moreover, a club that serves as a meeting point for the creative local scene offers the possibility to exchange experience while transcending stylistic and aesthetic boundaries – a testing ground for different projects that do not need to present „ultimate statements“, a place for constant labouring and development. A basic intention of Porgy & Bess is to encourage cooperations between local musicians with different artistic backgrounds in order to prevent „musical ghettoisation“.

In the past decades Europe’s jazz scene has managed to definitely establish itself as an independent and innovative force in jazz. Defining itself as a European jazz club, it is understood that P&B presents creative European contemporary music. Cooperations with our partners in the European club scene (Moods/Zurich, Jazzhouse/Copenhagen, Stadtgarten/Cologne, Unterfahrt/Munich, AMR/Geneva, Bimhuis/Amsterdam ...) and the international festival scene (Le Mans, Moers, Berlin ...) highlight different categories of concepts of improvised music from other countries. Especially close contacts with promoters and musicians from the former Eastern bloc (Slovakia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Bulgaria, Romania, Lithuania, Russia, Estonia, Serbia-Montenegro, Croatia, Albania, ...) lead to international cultural exchanges (see also festival series „Step across the border“).

Historically, Jazz is defined as Afro-American music, and still the „motherland of jazz“ continues to provide innovational impulses – two good reasons for us to present renowed American solo artists as well as the „next generation“ of jazz.

 

supported by:

Porgy & Bess - Jazz & Musicclub

 

Der gemeinnützige Verein Porgy & Bess versteht sich als Jazz & Musicclub mit pluralistischem Programmangebot. Das Porgy & Bess fungiert als Ort der musikalischen Begegnung, Auseinandersetzung und Konfrontation für Musiker und Publikum. Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf der Realisierung einer Struktur, welche die vielfältigen Artikulationsmöglichkeiten der heimischen (Jazz-)Szene bzw. neue Entwicklungsperspektiven berücksichtigt (z. B. die Arbeit mit internationalen Gastmusikern). Des Weiteren ermöglicht ein Club, der als „meeting point“ der heimischen kreativen Szene fungiert, Erfahrungsaustausch über stilistische und ästhetische Grenzen hinweg, ist Experimentierfeld für unterschiedlichste Projekte, die nicht dem Diktat eines „ultimativen Statements“ unterliegen müssen, ein Podium für kontinuierliche Weiterarbeit und -entwicklung. Eine Hauptintention des Porgy & Bess ist die Kooperation heimischer Musikerinnen und Musiker unterschiedlichster künstlerischer Herkunft, was der Tendenz einer musikalischen Ghettoisierung entgegenwirkt.

Die europäische Jazzszene hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten endgültig als eigenständige und innovatorische Kraft im Jazz etabliert. Nachdem sich das P&B als europäischer Jazzclub definiert, ist es selbstverständlich, kreatives europäisches Musikschaffen zu präsentieren. Kooperationen mit europäischen Partnern sowohl in der Club- (Moods/Zürich, Jazzhouse/Kopenhagen, Stadtgarten/Köln, Unterfahrt/München, AMR/Genf, Bimhuis/Amsterdam ...) als auch in der internationalen Festivalszene (Le Mans, Moers, Berlin ...) beleuchten verstärkt differenzierte Bereiche außerösterreichischer Improvisationsauffassungen. Intensive Kontakte vor allem mit Veranstaltern und Musikern des ehemaligen Ostblocks (Slowakei, Tschechien, Ungarn, Polen, Bulgarien, Rumänien, Litauen, Russland, Estland, Serbien-Montenegro, Kroatien, Albanien ...) führen zu einem internationalen Kulturaustausch (siehe Festivalserie „Step across the border“).

Jazz wird historisch als afro-amerikanische Musik definiert, und immer noch kommen innovatorische Impulse aus dem „Mutterland des Jazz“: zwei gute Gründe, warum einerseits die großen amerikanischen Solisten dieser Musik, andererseits auch die nachstrebenden Generationen programmatische Berücksichtigung finden.

 

 

unterstützt von: