Sat Feb. 6, 2021

Oscar Antolí Quartet (ESP/A)

© Reza Maleki

Oscar Antolí: clarinet, bass clarinet, kaval
Rainer Maria Nero: guitar
Marko Ferlan: bass
Carlos Ronda: percussion

We start the live-stream (real time, stream is not on demand!) about 1/2 h before the show starts. By clicking on "Now Live" a window opens, where you can watch the concert free of charge and without any registration. If you want, you can support this project with "Pay as you wish". Thank you & welcome to the (virtual) club!

"Peninsulas" is the first work by Oscar Antoli Quartet, as the name already suggests, transports us on a melodic journey through three peninsulas: Iberia, the Balkans and Anatolia. Inspired by the history and cultures of the Mediterranean, the original compositions are distinguished by eclecticism and connection and aim to rebuild a lost bridge between the music of its eastern and western coasts.

Hailing from across Europe and from a wide range of musical backgrounds, the musicians of the Quartet create a diverse and unifying sound, aimed to conjure up images and recollections of people, lives and far away lands. Mild, yet jovial tunes, paced oddly but exquisitely by the balkan-jazz drum beat, with the flamenco guitar strumming its subtly romantic presence, the bass murmuring peacefully and the clarinet and kaval proudly heralding its presence throughout this bucolic and all-embracing journey.