Fri May 7, 2021

Marko Churnchetz Trio (SL/DK/USA)

Marko Churnchetz: piano
Morten Ramsbøl: bass
Howard Curtis: drums

We start the live-stream (real time, stream is not on demand!) about 1/2 h before the show starts. By clicking on "Now Live" a window opens, where you can watch the concert free of charge and without any registration. If you want, you can support this project with "Pay as you wish". Thank you & welcome to the (virtual) club!

Slovenian-born pianist/composer Marko Churnchetz presents an ambitious suite for fifteen musicians: essentially his jazz quartet accompanied by a small orchestra of winds and strings. He pays tribute to the great Russian composers of the 20th Century: Shostakovich, Scriabin, Prokofiev, Stravinsky and Rachmaninoff (the title "Ruthenia" is a Latin name for the Russian border provinces and their inhabitants, a metaphor for connecting with the great Russian musical tradition).

Even if a listener did not know about the focus, the sound of the opening "Ouverture" would be a dead giveaway. After a lengthy rubato orchestral introduction, a very Russian-sounding theme (accompanied by rhapsodic Rachmaninoff-style piano) leads into a piano cadenza. "Cantabile" shifts attention to the quartet, the theme given to Mike Moreno's guitar and the leader's piano. Churnchetz takes a much more jazz-flavored solo, with the band joined by the strings, before Moreno has a lyrical turn.