Sun Jan. 2, 2022
20:30

Manfred Paul Weinberger Nonet 'In Presence of Kenny Wheeler' (A)

Manfred Paul Weinberger: trumpet, fluegelhorn
Christian Maurer: soprano saxophone, clarinet
Andreas Lachberger: tenor saxophone
Jürgen Haider: baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
Peter Nickel: trombone
Kurt Erlmoser: guitar
Helmar Hill: piano
Christian Wendt: bass
Ewald Zach: drums

My first experience of hearing the music of Kenny Wheeler was the CD "Flutter By, Butterfly" from 1988. His work opened up a sound aesthetic of contemporary music that has been a part of me to this day. Wheeler's unique way of playing, including his phrasing, his shaping of the melody, the colouring of his tone and his interaction with the musical flow, reveal an artistic depth that strongly appeals to me. His improvised playing is characterized by allowing everything to develop from the interplay, waiting for opportunities and thus also taking risks.

Kenny Wheeler draws on a wealth of experience that is difficult to define, stylistically. After studying the cornet and classical composition, the young Canadian worked in a wide variety of fields in London from the age of 22. He worked in swing dance bands, free jazz and jazz-rock groups, in studios and as a sideman, he performed on advertising jingles and was involved in intercultural projects between chamber music formations and large orchestras. 30 CD productions have been released in his name in a wide variety of formations. Dave Holland, Joni Mitchell, Philly Joe Jones, Bill Frisell, Michael Gibbs, Steve Coleman, Anthony Braxton, Rabih Abou-Kalil and Norma Winston, to name but a few, all brought Kenny Wheeler on board as a soloist. In this context, his specific tonal language matured. Today it is perceived as being in a category of its own that goes beyond established concepts of aesthetics or stylistics – both in his roles as a composer and soloist.

I first met Kenny Wheeler in person in 1997 at the “Banff Centre For The Arts”. He was part of the faculty for the '97 summer workshop in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, which I attended on a scholarship. His opening statement was short but characteristic of his modesty and tongue-in-cheek self-irony: "Usually I don't say so much, but if I do, I don't say so much". And indeed, he was not a man of many words but rather a charismatic aesthete of his own sound world. The titles of some of his compositions, however, reveal his pronounced pleasure in wordplay, such as "The Widow in the Window", "Double, Double You" or the aforementioned "Flutter By, Butterfly". As a trumpet performer in the “Upper Austrian Jazz Orchestra”, I had the privilege of playing several concerts with him in Europe from 1998 to 2006. The times spent before and after concerts, and during rehearsals, long bus journeys and shared meals brought us musicians closer to his fascinating and unforgettable personality. These times gave me some very precious moments and insights into the sound world of this great artist of contemporary music with his unmistakable characteristics. Kenny Wheeler passed away in London on 18 September 2014. His life's work as a composer, bandleader, soloist and sideman provided a rich source of inspiration for artists of subsequent generations. When you feel a closeness to the works of specific artistic personalities, they themselves become important companions in one's own development. Therefore, it seems important to me to develop an awareness of the principles that can be traced from the music of fascinating idols into my individual work in order to remain true to myself in all my personal artistic pursuits.

The lessons learnt from Kenny Wheeler's work for me mean, among other things, being open to new concepts, allowing space for an ambience, pausing and waiting for meaningful moments, tracing outside influences with interest and, last but not least, being prepared to fail with an idea. Seen in this light, the compositions in this production are an exciting venture, undertaken with relish. This nonet creates soundscapes in a wide range of forms, from refined chamber music dialogues to energetic orchestral sounds. I am particularly pleased to be able to bring together esteemed colleagues from the Upper Austrian Jazz Orchestra in this project, with whom I share common experiences and the trust gained throughout the process. The Upper Austrian Jazz Orchestra experienced an intensive artistic collaboration with Kenny Wheeler, which has resulted in a very special bond with him.

So 2. Januar 2022
20:30

Manfred Paul Weinberger Nonet 'In Presence of Kenny Wheeler' (A)

Manfred Paul Weinberger: trumpet, fluegelhorn
Christian Maurer: soprano saxophone, clarinet
Andreas Lachberger: tenor saxophone
Jürgen Haider: baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
Peter Nickel: trombone
Kurt Erlmoser: guitar
Helmar Hill: piano
Christian Wendt: bass
Ewald Zach: drums

Mein erstes Klangerleben mit Musik von Kenny Wheeler war die CD „Flutter By, Butterfly“ aus dem Jahr 1988. Sein Werk erschloss mir eine Klangästhetik von Gegenwartsmusik, die mich bis heute begleitet. In Wheelers einzigartiger Spielweise in Phrasierung, Formgebung von Melodie, der Farbgebung in seinem Ton sowie seiner Interaktion im musikalischen Flow zeigt sich eine künstlerische Tiefe, die mich stark anspricht. Alles zuzulassen, was sich aus dem Zusammenspiel entwickelt, Chancen abzuwarten und damit auch Risiken einzugehen, zeichnen sein improvisiertes Spiel aus.

Kenny Wheeler schöpft aus einem stilistisch kaum abgrenzbaren Erfahrungsschatz. Nach Kornett und klassischem Tonsatzstudium wirkte der junge Kanadier ab dem 22. Lebensjahr in London in unterschiedlichsten Feldern. Er war in Swing-Tanzbands, Freejazz- und Jazzrockformationen aktiv, jobbte in Studios und als Sideman, spielte für die Produktion von Werbejingles und war an interkulturellen Projekten zwischen kammermusikalischen Formationen und großformatigen Orchestern beteiligt. Er veröffentlichte dreißig CD Produktionen in unterschiedlichsten Besetzungen unter eigenem Namen mit seinen Werken. Dave Holland, Joni Mitchell, Philly Joe Jones, Bill Frisell, Michael Gibbs, Steve Coleman, Anthony Braxton, Rabih Abou-Kalil, Norma Winston, um nur einige zu nennen, holten Kenny Wheeler zu sich als Solist. In diesem Kontext reifte seine spezifische Tonsprache, die heute jenseits von etablierten Begriffen der Ästhetik bzw. Stilistik als eigene Kategorie wahrgenommen wird - als Komponist und Solist gleichermaßen.

Zur ersten persönlichen Begegnung mit Kenny Wheeler kam es 1997 im „Banff Centre For The Arts“. Er war Teil der Fakultät des Sommerworkshops `97 in den kanadischen Rocky Mountains, an dem ich als Stipendiat teilnahm. Sein Eröffnungsstatement war kurz, aber charakteristisch für seine Bescheidenheit und seine augenzwinkernde Selbstironie: „Usually I don´t say so much, but if I do, I don´t say so much“. Und tatsächlich war er kein Mensch vieler Worte sondern ein charismatischer Ästhet seiner Klangwelt. In der Titelgebung mancher seiner Kompositionen zeigt sich jedoch sein ausgeprägt lustvoller Umgang mit Wortspielen wie „The Widow in the Window“, „Double, Double You“ oder das schon erwähnte „Flutter By, Butterfly“. Als Trompeter im Upper Austrian Jazz Orchestra durfte ich von 1998 bis 2006 einige Konzerte in Europa mit ihm spielen. Die Zeiten vor und nach den Konzerten, gemeinsame Proben, lange Busreisen und gemeinsame Mahlzeiten brachten uns Musiker*Innen seine faszinierende und unvergessliche Persönlichkeit näher. Diese Zeit ermöglichte mir sehr wertvolle Momente und Einblicke in die Klangwelt eines großartigen Künstlers der Gegenwartsmusik mit unverkennbarer Charakteristik. Kenny Wheeler ist am 18. September 2014 in London verstorben. Sein Lebenswerk als Komponist, Bandleader, Solist und Sideman legte für Künstler*Innen nachfolgender Generationen eine vielschichtige Inspirationsquelle frei. Künstlerpersönlichkeiten, zu deren Werk man eine Nähe empfindet, sind wichtige Begleiter in der eigenen Entwicklung. Ein Bewusstsein dafür zu entwickeln, welchen Prinzipien man in der Musik faszinierender Vorbilder in der eigenen Arbeit nachspürt, scheint mir von Bedeutung zu sein, um in der künstlerischen Handlung bei sich selbst zu bleiben.

Die Lehren aus Kenny Wheelers Wirken bedeuten mir unter anderem, offen zu sein für Neues, Räume für Atmosphäre zu erschließen, inne haltend sinnstiftende Momente abzuwarten, mit Interesse an fremden Einflüssen nachzuspüren und nicht zuletzt bereit dafür zu sein, mit einer Idee auch einmal scheitern zu können. So betrachtet sind die Kompositionen dieser Produktion ein spannendes, lustvoll begangenes Wagnis. Dieses Nonett ermöglicht Klangmalerei im großen Spannungsbogen von feinen kammermusikalischen Dialogen bis zum energisch orchestralen Sound. Es freut mich besonders, mit diesem Projekt geschätzte Kollegen aus dem Upper Austrian Jazz Orchestra im Nonett zu vereinen, mit denen ich gemeinsame Erfahrungen und dabei gewonnenes Vertrauen teile. Das Upper Austrian Jazz Orchestra pflegte eine intensive künstlerische Zusammenarbeit mit Kenny Wheeler, wodurch sich zum Teil eine ganz besondere Verbundenheit mit ihm ergibt. (Manfred Paul Weinberger)