Fri March 31, 2023
20:30

Ulrich Drechsler // AZURE (part of Liminal Zone) (D/A)

Ulrich Drechsler: saxophone, clarinets
Lukas Leitner: keyboards, synthesizer
Bernhard Höchtel: keyboards, synthesizer
Oliver Steger: bass
Raphael Keuschnigg: drums, percussion

We start the live-stream (real time, stream is not on demand!) about 1/2 h before the show starts. By clicking on "Now Live" a window opens, where you can watch the concert free of charge and without any registration. If you want, you can support this project with "Pay as you wish". Thank you & welcome to the real & virtual club!

AZURE is here!!!

After "Caramel" [2020] and "Chrome" [2021] now AZURE, including the album of the same name. With this, the musical triplets from Ulrich Drechsler's large, multi-disciplinary music forge LIMINAL ZONE are finally complete.

In search of new forms of expression, work began in 2018 on a club format that would unite all the ideas and inspirations gathered over decades and, above all, be completely realisable live. Somewhere between electronic club music, trip hop, dancefloor trance, drum'n'bass, jazz blasts and film music. The work on AZURE took almost 5 years. An incredible amount of music was written, discarded, new line-ups were tried out and questioned again. A long, intensive process of creation at the end of which Ulrich even rediscovered an old "friend": the soprano saxophone, which he had not played since his student days.

AZURE is an electro-acoustic storm! A force of nature, on its way to defining its personal idea of club sound. You will dance, you will be able to discover infinite things and sink into them. Once again, Ulrich tries consciously and courageously to evade all common styles and genres. Just as it was already the case with the two highly praised sibling projects "Caramel" and "Chrome" in their individual way.

AZURE is Ulrich's greatest adventure to date. A journey into completely new musical territory. On board a fantastic team of like-minded accomplices.

Tyrolean drummer Raphael Keuschnigg and Viennese bass icon Oliver Steger form the foundation of AZURE. Together they deliver the piercing, merciless beats and basses that won't let the listener sit still. On top of that, the two keyboarders, synthesizer players and electronic musicians Lukas Leitner and Bernhard Höchtel create large-scale atmospheres, breathless carpets of sound and endless rhythmic drones, layer upon layer. When listening, one gets the feeling that each of them has clearly more than just two hands at their disposal.

All this sounds like the soundtrack of an imaginary blockbuster. Finally, Ulrich's saxophones and clarinets, which lay floating hymns, trance-like rhythms and soundscapes above, below & in between and let everything melt together. Welcome to AZURE!!!

Fr 31. März 2023
20:30

Ulrich Drechsler // AZURE (part of Liminal Zone) (D/A)

Ulrich Drechsler: saxophone, clarinets
Lukas Leitner: keyboards, synthesizer
Bernhard Höchtel: keyboards, synthesizer
Oliver Steger: bass
Raphael Keuschnigg: drums, percussion

Wir starten ca. 1/2 h vor Konzertbeginn den Live-Stream (Real-Time, nach Konzertende nicht mehr abrufbar!). Durch Klicken auf "Zum Livestream" öffnet sich ein Fenster, wo Sie kostenlos und ohne irgendeine Registrierung das Konzert miterleben können. Wir ersuchen Sie aber, dieses Projekt über "Pay as you wish" zu unterstützen. Vielen Dank & Willkommen im realen & virtuellen Club!

AZURE ist da!!!

Nach „Caramel“ [2020] und „Chrome“ [2021] nun AZURE, inclusive dem dazugehörigen, gleichnamigen Album. Damit sind die musikalischen Drillinge aus Ulrich Drechslers grosser, multi-disziplinärer Musikschmiede LIMINAL ZONE endlich komplett.

Auf der Suche nach neuen Ausdrucksformen begann 2018 die Arbeit an einem Club Format, das all die über Jahrzehnte gesammelten Ideen und Inspirationen in sich vereinen und vor allem komplett live umsetzbar sein sollte. Angesiedelt irgendwo zwischen elektronischer Clubmusik, Trip Hop, Dancefloor-Trance, Drum’n’Bass, Jazz Blasts und Filmmusik. Beinahe 5 Jahre dauerte die Arbeit an AZURE. Es wurde unglaublich viel Musik geschrieben, wieder verworfen, neue Besetzungen wurden ausprobiert und wieder hinterfragt. Ein langer, intensiver Entstehungsprozess an dessem Ende Ulrich sogar eine alte „Freundin“ wiederentdeckte: das Sopransaxophon, das er seit der Studienzeit nicht mehr gespielt hat.

AZURE ist ein elektroakustischer Sturm! Eine Naturgewalt, auf dem Weg, ihre persönliche Vorstellung von Clubsound zu definieren. Man wird tanzen, wird Unendliches entdecken können und darin versinken. Dabei versucht man erneut, sich allen gängigen Stilrichtungen und Genres bewusst und mutig zu entziehen. Ebenso wie es bereits bei den beiden hochgelobten Geschwister-Projekten „Caramel“ und „Chrome“ auf deren individuelle Art und Weise der Fall ist. AZURE ist Ulrichs bisher grösstes Abenteuer. Eine Reise in komplettes musikalisches Neuland. Mit an Bord ein phantastisches Team aus gleichgesinnten Komplizen.

Der Tiroler Schlagzeuger Raphael Keuschnigg und die Wiener Bass Ikone Oliver Steger bilden dabei das Fundament von AZURE. Gemeinsam liefern sie die markerschütternden, gnadenlose Beats und Bässe, die den Hörer und die Hörerin nicht stillsitzen lassen. Darüber erschaffen die beiden Keyboarder, Tastenkünstler und Elektroniker Lukas Leitner und Bernhard Höchtel grossangelegte Atmosphären, atemlose Klangteppiche und endlose rhythmische Drohnen, Schicht über Schicht. Man bekommt beim Hören das Gefühl, dass jeder von ihnen deutlich mehr als nur zwei Hände zur Verfügung hat.

All das klingt wie der Soundtrack eines imaginären Blockbusters. Schliesslich Ulrichs Saxophone und Klarinetten, die darüber, darunter & dazwischen schwebende Hymnen, tranceartige Rhythmen und Geräuschkulissen legen und alles miteinander verschmelzen lassen. Willkommen bei AZURE!!