Sun May 14, 2023
20:30

5/8erl in Ehr’n & Jazzorchester Vorarlberg 'Im Auge des Schmetterling' (A)

5/8erl in Ehr’n
Max Gaier, Bobby Slivovsky: vocals

Miki Liebermann: guitar

Clemens Wenger: keyboards, accordion

Hanibal Scheutz: bass

Jazzorchester Vorarlberg

Martin Franz, Isabella Lingg, Klaus Peter: reeds

Martin Eberle, Anton Meusburger: trumpet

Jan Ströhle: trombone

Thomas Halfer: trombone, tuba

Benny Omerzell: keyboards

Christian Eberle: drums

We start the live-stream (real time, stream is not on demand!) about 1/2 h before the show starts. By clicking on "Now Live" a window opens, where you can watch the concert free of charge and without any registration. If you want, you can support this project with "Pay as you wish". Thank you & welcome to the real & virtual club!

Welcome to an East-West meeting of a special kind!

5/8erl in Ehr'n is one of the most successful bands from Vienna in recent years, which has created its own genre with Viennese soul: Inimitable two-part vocals with extraordinary - and often extraordinarily beautiful - lyrics. Dreamy excursions into the "wide country", as Schnitzler already called soul, and edgy irony from everyday life in Austria. Delicate, butterfly-wing-like ballads and fast-paced grooves - everything is possible here.

The music of the Achterln has always been influenced by soul, funk and reggae; but in the magnificent setting of this program it takes on an additional stunning energy, powerful yet playful, light as a feather yet supported by weighty sound.

The Jazzorchester Vorarlberg, a contemporary formation in the classical big band tradition, takes the 5/8erl-Voices into its midst and styles their hair with rich blowing.

By the way, the bands are almost the same age:
In 2005, trumpeter Martin Eberle (Kompost 3, 5K HD, etc.) founded the Jazzorchester Vorarlberg together with saxophonist Martin Franz. A year later, 5/8erl in Ehr'n came together in Vienna.

The instrumental trio of the Achterln Liebermann-Scheutz-Wenger joined forces with drummer Christian Eberle and keyboardist Benny Omerzell to form an irresistible new whole. With Omerzell and Wenger, there are two keyboard wizards at work.
The arrangements are more than mere large-scale orchestral expansions; rather, they lend the pieces one or another new dimension, when a glistening brass section flashes between the thirds of the two-part singing, when ecstatic solos underscore (or even counteract!) what has just been sung, when newly composed instrumental interludes tell their own stories.

How nice that in these meager times such lushly cast programs are possible! (Albert Hosp, Radio Ö1 / Festival Glatt&Verkehrt)

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

So 14. Mai 2023
20:30

5/8erl in Ehr’n & Jazzorchester Vorarlberg 'Im Auge des Schmetterling' (A)

5/8erl in Ehr’n
Max Gaier, Bobby Slivovsky: vocals

Miki Liebermann: guitar

Clemens Wenger: keyboards, accordion

Hanibal Scheutz: bass

Jazzorchester Vorarlberg

Martin Franz, Isabella Lingg, Klaus Peter: reeds

Martin Eberle, Anton Meusburger: trumpet

Jan Ströhle: trombone

Thomas Halfer: trombone, tuba

Benny Omerzell: keyboards

Christian Eberle: drums

Wir starten ca. 1/2 h vor Konzertbeginn den Live-Stream (Real-Time, nach Konzertende nicht mehr abrufbar!). Durch Klicken auf "Zum Livestream" öffnet sich ein Fenster, wo Sie kostenlos und ohne irgendeine Registrierung das Konzert miterleben können. Wir ersuchen Sie aber, dieses Projekt über "Pay as you wish" zu unterstützen. Vielen Dank & Willkommen im realen & virtuellen Club!

Welcome to einem Ost-West-Meeting der besonderen Art!

5/8erl in Ehr´n ist eine der erfolgreichsten Bands aus Wien der letzten Jahre, die sich mit Wiener Soul ihr eigenes Genre geschaffen hat: Unachahmlicher Zweigesang mit außergewöhnlichen - und oft außergewöhnlich schönen - Lyrics. Verträumte Ausflüge ins „weite Land“, wie schon Schnitzler die Seele bezeichnete, und kantige Ironie aus dem Alltag Österreichs. Zarte, schmetterlingsflügel-hafte Balladen und rasante grooves - alles möglich hier.

Die Musik der Achterln war immer schon von Soul, Funk und Reggae geprägt; doch im prachtvollen Setting dieses Programmes erhält sie zusätzlich eine umwerfende Energie, kraftstrotzend und doch spielerisch, federleicht und doch von gewichtigem Sound gestützt.

Das Jazzorchester Vorarlberg, eine in klassischer Big-Band-tradition besetzte Formation zeitgenössischen Zuschnitts, nimmt die 5/8erl-Voices in seine Mitte und stylt ihnen mit sattem Gebläse die Frisuren nach vorne.

Die Bands sind übrigens fast gleich alt:
2005 gründetete Trompeter Martin Eberle (Kompost 3, 5K HD etc.) gemeinsam mit Saxofonist Martin Franz das Jazzorchester Vorarlberg. Ein Jahr danach kamen 5/8erl in Ehr‘n in Wien zusammen.

Das Instrumentaltrio der Achterln Liebermann-Scheutz-Wenger verbindet sich mit Schlagzeuger Christian Eberle und Keyboarder Benny Omerzell zu einem unwiderstehlichen neuen Ganzen. Mit Omerzell und Wenger sind damit gleich zwei Tastenzauberer am Werk.
Die Arrangements sind mehr als bloß großorchestral aufgeblasene Erweiterungen; vielmehr verleihen sie den Stücken die eine oder andere neue Dimension, wenn zwischen den Terzen des Zweigesanges ein gleißender Bläser-Satz aufblitzt, wenn ekstatische Soli das eben Gesungene unterstreichen (oder auch konterkarieren!), wenn neu komponierte instrumentale Zwischenspiele ihre eigenen Geschichten erzählen.

Wie schön, dass in diesen kargen Zeiten solch üppig besetzte Programme möglich sind! (Albert Hosp, Radio Ö1 / Festival Glatt&Verkehrt)