Sa 4. Juni 2022
The Zawinul Foundation for Achievement presents

The Z-Awards 2022

Established in 2013 by Tony Zawinul, the Joe Zawinul Foundation for achievement fulfills Joe’s dream to encourage young promising musicians to cultivate the pursuit of performing arts careers.

Each year, one music student from the European Union and one music student from the United States are the recipients of the Joe Zawinul Award in recognition of their exceptional musical talent and passion. The prize for each winner includes the participation in the annual Joe Zawinul Music Exchange Program, with an all-expense paid trip to either the USA or Austria for the duration of three weeks, and a chance to play live at the award ceremony.

The event showcases additional performances by Radio String Quartet, the Zawinul Youth Jam Band, 17-year-old bass sensation, Gabriel Severn from Philadelphia USA, and outstanding Austrian vocalist songwriter Laura Heily, among others. Additional awards are also given for Creative Video, Educator of the Year, along with a few surprises!

This year, the Joe Zawinul Foundation also pays tribute to renowned actor, Frank Hoffmann, for the Joe Zawinul Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award. (Tony Zawinul)