Sun March 24, 2019

FORQ feat. Henry Hey, Chris McQueen, Kevin Scott & Jason 'JT' Thomas (USA)

Henry Hey: keyboards
Chris McQueen: guitar
Kevin Scott: bass
Jason 'JT' Thomas: drums

Forq is an instrumental quartet with an aggressive sound and a penchant for sonic exploration. This all-star band based in New York has just completed their third album - Thrēq - Which was released in the latter half of 2017. Originally founded by keyboardist Henry Hey (David Bowie, Empire of the Sun, Jeff "Tain" Watts) and bassist Michael League (Grammy-winning founder of Snarky Puppy), Forq is joined by guitarist Chris McQueen (Snarky Puppy, Foe Destroyer, Bokanté) and drummer Jason "JT" Thomas (Roy Hargrove’s RH Factor, Marcus Miller, D’Angelo). Their group sound draws from various musical paths of it’s members. Henry Hey is the keyboardist and co-leader of groundbreaking instrumental quartet, Rudder, and some of that sound can be heard in the music of Forq. Drummer Jason Thomas has a musical history rich in authentic Texas blues and swampy funk. Guitarist Chris McQueen brings his singular sonic approach coupled with highly melodic soloing. Joining Forq on this tour is bassist Kevin Scott whose incredible low end groove can be heard with guitarist Wayne Krantz as well as with Atlanta music legend, Colonel Bruce Hampton. Forq is kicking off a US and Canada tour in February, starting at the GroundUP Music festival in Miami. Other past notable performances include several other US and European tours including performing at the North Sea Jazz Festival in 2015.