Tue April 4, 2023

Jane Bunnett and Maqueque 'Playing With Fire' (CAN/CUB/USA)

Jane Bunnett: soprano saxophone, flute
Joanna Majoko: vocals, percussion
Mary Paz: conga, vocals, cajón, bata drums
Dánae Olano: piano, vocals
Tailin Marrero: bass, vocals
Yissy García: drums

We start the live stream approx. 1/2 hour before the concert begins (real time, no longer available after the end of the concert). By clicking on "Go to livestream" a window will open where you can watch the concert free of charge and without any registration. However, we kindly ask you to support this project via "Pay as you wish". Thank you & welcome to the real & virtual club!

The new project by Jane Bunnett and Maqueque is dropping March 1st 2023 (with singles released in November 2022 and
January 2023)

This release celebrates the 10th anniversary of this all women collective and a new sound with the addition of Star guitarist Donna Grantis (Donna was the guitarist in Prince's all women trio 3rdeyegirl from 2012 until his passing). Maqueque also adds the virtuosic 19-year- old violinist and composers Daniela Olano (sister of founding member and pianist Danae Olano). The band is rounded with our drum hero Yissy Garcia, Joanna Majoko on Vocals, Tailin Marrero on Bass & Vocals and Mary Paz on percussion & vocals. Playing With Fire captures the cutting-edge evolution of this award-winning jazz Ensemble, while making new inroads into the Afro Cuban tradition that brought them together a decade ago.