Sat Nov. 18, 2023

Karen Asatrian Trio Apricot (ARM/A/UKR/USA)

Karen Asatrian: piano
Andrej Prozorov: soprano saxophone
Artashes Sinanyan: vibrodrums

We start the live stream approx. 1/2 hour before the concert begins (real time, no longer available after the end of the concert). By clicking on "Go to livestream" a window will open where you can watch the concert free of charge and without any registration. However, we kindly ask you to support this project via "Pay as you wish". Thank you & welcome to the real & virtual club!

Composer and pianist Karen Asatrian has recently formed a new musical ensemble called Trio Apricot. The name "Apricot" comes from the Armenian word for fruit. Alongside Asatrian, the trio includes two other Armenian musicians: Emmanuel Hovhannisyan, who plays the duduk (a traditional Armenian woodwind instrument made from apricot wood), and Artashes Sinanyan, who combines vibraphone and drums in his performance. Together, the three musicians create a sound that is rich and complex.
The talent and creativity of Trio Apricot are evident in their unique fusion of traditional Armenian music and jazz, showcased through the skilful use of the piano, duduk, and percussion instruments. Their jazz suite celebrates virtues such as honesty, empathy, friendship, optimism, loyalty, creativity, and love through instrumental music, providing a refreshing break from the demands of everyday life. The trio Apricot demonstrates the inspiring and uplifting power of music, which is sure to appeal to music lovers of all ages and preferences.