Thu June 27, 2024
Wolfgang Muthspiel & Jazzcampus Basel present

Focusyear Band 2024 (PL/USA/F/D/SK/BG/BRA/LV/UY)

Marta Wajdzik: alto, soprano saxophone
Katie Webster: alto saxophone
Baptiste Stanek: tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
Finn Vidal: tenor saxophone
Jure Slapar: guitar
Wes Georgiev: piano
Thiago Duarte: bass
Janis Jaunalksnis, Juan Ibarra: drums

Wir starten ca. 1/2 h vor Konzertbeginn den Live-Stream (Real-Time, nach Konzertende nicht mehr abrufbar!). Durch Klicken auf "Zum Livestream" öffnet sich ein Fenster, wo Sie kostenlos und ohne irgendeine Registrierung das Konzert miterleben können. Wir ersuchen Sie aber, dieses Projekt über "Pay as you wish" zu unterstützen. Vielen Dank & Willkommen im realen & virtuellen Club!

We start the live stream approx. 1/2 hour before the concert begins (real time, no longer available after the end of the concert). By clicking on "Go to livestream" a window will open where you can watch the concert free of charge and without any registration. However, we kindly ask you to support this project via "Pay as you wish". Thank you & welcome to the real & virtual club!

The current edition of the Focusyear Band is a truly international affair. Nine remarkable musicians from around the world have participated in this unique immersion program based in Basel, Switzerland since September 2023. They are now more than ready to present their original music this spring/summer 2024.

Four saxophonists, each with a distinctly original sound form the frontline of this ensemble: Marta Wajdzik from Poland, an elegant virtuoso on both alto and soprano saxophone; Katie Webster, a bluesy alto saxophonist from the US pursuing new forms of improvised music; Baptiste Stanek, a fiery and technically brilliant musician from France who plays both tenor saxophone and bass clarinet; and Finn Vidal, a lyrical German tenor player whose free flowing improvisations often display a maturity beyond his years.

Two drummers will share their distinctly different rhythmic universes: Janis Jaunalksnis from Latvia and Juan Ibarra from Uruguay. On guitar, Jure Slapar from Slovenia contributes both immense fluidity and electronic colors. On bass, Thiago Duarte, hailing from Brazil, shapes the band‘s heartbeat with his compelling and elegant interpretation of pulse. Last but not least pianist Wes Georgiev, an American with Bulgarian roots, is an eloquent and expressive improviser who’s modern outlook is firmly rooted in the tradition of jazz.

These nine musicians have gone through a year of intense work with some of the most prominent and compelling contemporary musicians in the field of jazz: Sara Serpa, Django Bates, Chris Cheek, Kris Davis, Julia Hülsmann, Ingrid Jensen, Anders Jormin, Guillermo Klein, Lionel Loueke, Linda May Han Oh, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Jorge Rossy, Kendrick Scott, Cuong Vu, Doug Weiss, Miguel Zenón

Now they have become a well-balanced ensemble of individualists, performing their own pieces written specifically for this group of likeminded talents.