Tue Sept. 3, 2024

Nigun Quartet (ISR)

Opher Schneider: bass
Tom Lev: alto saxophone
Moshe Elmakias: piano
Yosi Levy: drums

We start the live stream approx. 1/2 hour before the concert begins (real time, no longer available after the end of the concert). By clicking on "Go to livestream" a window will open where you can watch the concert free of charge and without any registration. However, we kindly ask you to support this project via "Pay as you wish". Thank you & welcome to the real & virtual club!

The Nigun Quartet plays Hasidic melodies with the rich musicality of jazz. Jazz makes space for a subtlety that allows for the renewal of the nigun - the Hasidic melody. It opens the door to the power of the moment, and serves as a vehicle of communication between the musicians and the audience. The music of the Nigun Quartet juxtaposes improvisational freedom and rhythmic and harmonious complexity with simple, repetitive melodies that invite the audience to participate with their voices. The result: An altogether singular, magical, contemplative experience.